Share to Facebook Share to Twitter

The Christopher Newell Social Justice Award

ACE Tasmania's major award is the Christopher Newell Social Justice Award, please see below for further information about this award.

The Christopher Newell Social Justice Award

This award commemorates the inspirational life and work of Associate Professor Christopher James Newell AM, FACE a visionary social activist and disability advocate.

The ACE TAS Branch has provided this annual award to recognise the work of individuals or organisations that best exemplify socially meaningful achievements and play a significant role in promoting social justice in the state.

By recognising and rewarding real life examples of work and achievement in this area, ACE aims to honour the memory of Christopher and promote the cause of social justice. The award aims to also acknowledge an individual, group or organisation with a clearly notable record of work for change in social and cultural contexts that disadvantage, impoverish and disempower people.

Christopher served with great distinction on the staff of St David's Cathedral in Hobart and in the medical faculty of the University of Tasmania, speaking and publishing widely in his chosen fields of medical ethics, spirituality, pastoral theology, bioethical issues and the situation of people with disabilities.

Christopher received an Order of Australia Medal in 2001 for services to people with disabilities, to health consumers and the development and practice of ethics. He was awarded the College Medal in 2008.

Eligibility and criteria

The nomination should show that the individual or organisation nominated is engaged in the process of building a just society and:

  • has worked effectively to change those social situations, public attitudes, structures or policies which cause people to be excluded, impoverished or disempowered
  • has demonstrated an attitude of respect for the human dignity of all people.


Previous recipients
2010 Rt Rev Dr Christopher Jones CEO Anglicare
2015 Dr Julie Rimes The Hutchins School


  • 2010 Recipient

    Rt Rev Dr Christopher Jones - CEO Anglicare

    Read More
  • 2015 Recipient

    Dr Julie Rimes - The Hutchins School

    Read More
  • ACE newsletter

    Sign up to the ACE newsletter today, and stay up to date on the latest in education industry news and events

    Stay up to date and sign up to the ACE newsletter today