ACE Sutherland St George Region World Teachers Day Awards 2019 Evening

Tuesday 5th November 2019

The ACE Sutherland & St George Regional Committee invite you to celebrate World Teachers Day 2019.

The evening will recognise excellence in education across our region and celebrate the incredible work of our Sutherland & St George Educators.

Special Guest Speaker

Mr David de Carvalho | Chief Executive Officer | Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA)

The ACARA Board appointed Mr David de Carvalho as the new Chief Executive Officer of ACARA in March 2019. Mr de Carvalho brings to ACARA a wealth of leadership experience from the education sector, and from the public sector at both the Commonwealth and state government level. Mr de Carvalho was Chief Executive Officer of NESA from January 2017 and, prior to that, he was Deputy Secretary at the NSW Department of Family and Community Services. Mr de Carvalho has also led the National Catholic Education Commission and was Head of the Higher Education Division in the federal government Department of Education. He started his career as a secondary school teacher, and has served on the boards of the Australian Council for Educational Research and the Curriculum Corporation (now Education Services Australia).

David’s presentation for this event is entitled:

Fanning the flames of wonder – why teaching is the most important job in the world.

Call for Nominations

ACE World Teachers Day Awards 2019

Sutherland St George Region

Each year the Australian College of Educators Sutherland St George Region celebrates World Teachers Day by recognising excellence in our profession through the ACE NSW World Teachers Day Awards.

We are currently seeking nominations for outstanding educators across all systems, subjects, sectors and levels.

The following awards will be presented:

  • Teachers who have displayed exemplar leadership;
  • Outstanding teachers in their first 3 years of teaching;
  • Teachers, Schools and Organisations that are contributing to initiatives in education.

To nominate an exceptional educator from our region, please complete the attached nomination form including a supporting statement (approximately one page in length) highlighting the achievements and contributions of the nominee. The statement should also describe the nominee’s contributions over an extended period of time within their workplace and more broadly to the education profession that may also include contributions to ACE and its activities. This could also include information relevant to associated honours and awards which the nominee has received.

Nominations are to be forwarded by email to the ACE Sutherland St George Region Chair, at Tom Mae <> by 8 October 2019.  Receipt of the nominations will be acknowledged via return email. The Chair will then forward nominations to the Awards Committee for consideration.


Ruth Lusty, Committee Secretary

ACE Sutherland St George Region





Date & Time

Venue Location