Anna Hogg Oration & ACE Inner Sydney Annual Awards 2018

Wednesday 7th November 2018

The Awards

The ACE Inner Sydney Region 2018 Annual Awards celebrates and awards outstanding educators and their achievements.

The following awards will be presented:

  • The Alan Laughlin Perpetual Award for leadership in education
  • The Ralph Rawlinson Perpetual Award for education of disadvantaged students
  • The Ron Ikin Award for leadership in professional learning
  • Outstanding Graduates (teaching degrees) from Inner Sydney Region universities
  • World Teachers’ Day Certificates of Recognition

To download the nomination form, please click here. For more information about the awards being presented, please click here. Nominations close on Friday 5 October 2018.

The Anna Hogg Oration

Dr Anna Hogg (1910-2011) was a founding member of ACE (1959). Anna was on the Boards and Councils of many Australian educational and church institutions. She was Head of the Department of Teacher Education at Sydney Teachers College from 1948-1973. ACE Inner Sydney Region will pay tribute to Anna’s outstanding contribution to the life and professional standing of teachers. She shaped the professional and personal lives of teachers through her lectures and her involvement in ACE and other professional bodies.

Guest Speaker

Professor Chris Davison | Head, School of Education | UNSW

Professor Davison has worked in teacher education, including at Melbourne and La Trobe University, for over 30 years, and before that, as an English and ESL teacher and consultant in primary and secondary schools, English language centres and the adult and community education sector in Australia and overseas. She has researched and published extensively on the interface between English as a mother tongue and ESL development, integrating language and content curriculum, and English language assessment, in leading international journals including TESOL Quarterly, Applied Linguistics, Language Assessment Quarterly, Language Testing and Linguistics and Education.

Chris has been actively involved in an extensive range professional associations and community organizations throughout her career, including undertaking stints as President of the Australian Council of TESOL Association, Chair of the Australian Literacy Federation, Chair of the TESOL International Research Committee and most recently, Chair of the NSW Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards Initial Teacher Education Committee and President of the NSW Council of Deans of Education

Date & Time

Venue Location